You can have it all

I was just watching a clip of some daytime TV show where they were arguing monogamy vs non-monogamy, and as usual – our team was vastly outnumbered, and as always – constantly talked over. But the host did bring up an idea that made me think about my approach to relationships – that you can have it all. I like polyamory for many reasons, but for me it’s just always seemed like less of a compromise than any other way of doing things. I’m sure many of us can agree that there are great things about being single and great things about being in a relationship, so why not combine them?

Anyway, I’m getting slightly side-tracked as usual. The presenter said something along the lines of; “When you enter into a monogamous relationship you are trading that denial and repression for the security, love, future etc that you can get out of that arrangement”. I wasn’t particularly impressed with the argument opposing this statement so I made up my own; it’s not a fair trade. You can have all of those things without denying yourself anything! And I do.

2 thoughts on “You can have it all

  1. I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  2. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

Leave a Reply

